2018 National Championships

Etobicoke, Ontario

November 19 - 24, 2018 (Entry Deadline Nov 1, 2018)

JJ Mat Bowling, 1536 The Queensway
Etobicoke, Ontario M8Z 1T5
- The gym is located at the back of the Church

Tentative Schedule of events:

  • Monday, November 19th - Practice Day
  • Tuesday, November 20th, Singles
  • Wednesday, November 21st, Singles & Pairs
  • Thursday, November 22nd, Pairs & Triples
  • Friday, November 23rd, Triples & Fours
  • Saturday, November 24th, Fours

This years Championships will count 25% towards the selection for the Canadian Team travelling to the 2020 Short Mat World Championships in Belgium. Entry Deadline November 1st, 2018 may be extended depending upon entries received.

Registrations are open for Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours. There are a limited number of entries based on a first come first served basis. The first entries will be taken as of August 1st, 2018 by either email or by letter.

Registration cost: $30 / event / player and each entrant may choose to play in one, two, three or all four events. Entry fees must must be received within 2 weeks of date of entry. More information to follow.

Please send your entries by email to Dave Burrows.


2020 World Short Mat Bowls Council Championships

Sporti Vlaanderen Sports Centre,
Herentals, Belgium

March 20 - 22, 2020

More Information

About Us

The Canadian Short Mat Bowls Association (CSMBA) is a recognized national member of the World Short Mat Bowls Association. The World Short Mat Bowls Association is independent from World Bowls, and hence, the CSMBA is independent from Bowls Canada (BCB).

Why We Exist

  • To promote, foster growth and regulate the sport of short mat bowls in Canada
  • To conduct and control National Competitions and Championships and to follow the rules and regulations of short mat bowls as set out by the World Short Mat Bowls Council
  • To select all Canadian Team members competing in Short Mat World Championships and other International Events.

The Sport

  • Short Mat Bowls is an indoor version of lawn bowling played on a 45 foot long x 6 foot wide mat with regular lawn bowls, and a heavier jack. It is ideally suited in Canada because it is not affected by heat, sun, wind, rain, or snow.

Our Desire

  • The CSMBA wishes all short mat clubs to join the CSMBA, grow membership, develop the sport domestically and become more competitive internationally.
  • CSMBA annual membership fees are $50 / club / season and the season runs from October 1st to September 30th
  • Become a member today by filling out a Membership Form (Click Here)

Board of Directors

  • President: Dave Burrows
  • Secretary: Open position
  • Vice President: Open position
  • Treasurer - Brian Taillieu
  • Director at Large - Patrick Côté
  • Director at Large - Johanne Trudeau
  • Director at Large - Robert Galipeau
  • Director at Large - Brent Jansen

Our Rules

CSMBA have addopted and follow the rules outlined by the World Short Mat Bowls Council
Dowload the Rules below:

WSMBA Rules (2014)

For English Carpet Bowling Rules, see the following document:

English Carpet Rules

Member Clubs


Royal Lawn Bowling Club

Edmonton, AB


Oak Bay Lawn Bowling Club

Victoria, BC


Brampton Century Gardens Short Mat Club

Brampton, ON


Burlington Lawn Bowling Club

Burlington, ON


Cobourg Short Mat Club

Cobourg, ON


JJMat Bowling

Etobicoke, ON


Kingston Lawn Bowling Club

Kingston, ON

Seniors Association Kingston Region

Kingston, ON


Niagara Falls Short Mat Club

Niagara Falls, ON


Thamesford Lawn Bowling Club

Thamesford, ON


Saskatoon Short Mat Club

Saskatoon, SK


Ancaster Lawn Bowling Club

Ancaster, ON


Muskoka Lawn Bowling Club

Bracebridge, ON


Ottawa Short Mat Bowls Club

Ottawa, ON

Become a member today by filling out a Membership Form (Click Here)



Please write or email:

Canadian Short Mat Bowls Association
c/o Dave Burrows, President
657 Vanderburgh Drive, Burlington, Ontario L7T 3W5 Canada


Honour Roll



  • Martin Foxhall
  • 2nd: Nick Watkins
  • 3rd: Brent Jansen


  • Martin Foxhall, Dave Burrows
  • 2nd: Brent Jansen, Mitch O’Brien
  • 3rd: Andrew Harley, David Anderson


  • Laila Hassan, Nick Watkins, Helena Ho
  • 2nd: Brent Jansen, Andrew Harley, David Anderson
  • 3rd: Patrick Cote, Mitch O’Brien, Dave Burrows


  • Brent Jansen, Andrew Harley, David Anderson, Mitch O’Brien
  • 2nd: Martin Foxhall, Dave Burrows, Brian Taillieu, Phil Thornton
  • 3rd: Dave Houtby, Dave Anderson, Laura Seed, Sandy MacKenzie